Stratford wrestling wins eight weight classes, takes team title at D.C. Everest Lehrke Invitational

Posted on 06 January 2018 by paul

Stratford’s A.J. Schoenfuss battles in a 126-pound match at the Fred Lehrke Invitational on Saturday at D.C. Everest High School. (Photo by Katie Marten/For

Auburndale’s Keller Wolfe finished second at 170 pounds at the Fred Lehrke Invitational on Saturday at D.C. Everest High School. (Photo by Katie Marten/For

This story is sponsored by Victory Apparel

SCHOFIELD – Stratford won eight individual championships and cruised to the team title at the 62nd annual Fred Lehrke Wrestling Invitational on Saturday at D.C. Everest High School.

Stratford racked up 477 points to easily outdistance Medford (238) and D.C. Everest (222) for the title. Auburndale finished 10th with 100 points.

Karter Stuttgen went 5-0 at 106 pounds and Manny Drexler was 3-0 at 113 pounds to win round robin titles for the Tigers.

A.J. Schoenfuss (126), Dilan Dehlinger (145), Jake Drexler (152) and Dylan Schoenherr (220) had pins in the championship matches to win their respective weight classes for Stratford.

Also taking titles for the Tigers were Trevor Dennee at 170 and Kaelen Schmitt at 182.

Based on the number of entries in each weight class, round robin and standard bracket formats were used.

Dennee beat Keller Wolfe of Auburndale 7-2 in the 170-pound championship.

In addition to Wolfe’s second-place finish, Samuel Hasenorhl took fourth at 220, Hunter Godard was fifth at 132, Dylan Baird finished fifth at 120, and Isaiah Hasenohrl took seventh at 126.

Max Schwabe (132), Derek Marten (138) and Aiden Hoffman (195) each finished second for Stratford, bowing out of the finals with medical forfeits.

Jordan Becker was third at 160 and Hector Rojas finished fourth at 285 as well for the Tigers.
Auburndale hosts Stratford in a Marawood Conference dual meet on Thursday.

Fred Lehrke Invitational
Jan. 6, at D.C. Everest High School
Team scores:
1. Stratford 477; 2. Medford 238; 3. D.C. Everest 222; 4. Denmark 209; 5. Milwaukee Marquette 173; 6. Stanley-Boyd 172; 7. Rosholt 167; 8. Janesville Parker 154; 9. Kettle Moraine 122; 10. Auburndale 100; 11. Mosinee 96; 12. Appleton Xavier 32.
Championship matches and local finishers
106: (Round robin) 1. Karter Stuttgen (ST) 5-0; 2. Bo Niewiadomski (ROS) 4-1.
113: (Round robin) 1. Manny Drexler (ST) 3-0; 2. Dustin Bergman (SB) 2-1.
120: (Round robin) 1. Dane Higgins (MED); 5. Dylan Baird (AUB).
126: Championship – A.J. Schoenfuss (ST) pinned Brett Perkins (JP), 1:06; Seventh place – Isaiah Hasenorhl (AUB) def. Jake Garvens (KM), 10-4.
132: Championship – Tomas Severson (DC) def. Max Schwabe (ST), medical forfeit; Fifth place – Hunter Godard (AUB) def. Dalton McDermond (SB), 8-6.
138: Championship – Andy Poetzl (MED) def. Derek Marten (ST), medical forfeit.
145: Championship – Dilan Dehlinger (ST) pinned John Crawford (KM), 3:02.
152: Championship – Jake Drexler (ST) pinned Adam Charnecke (ROS), 2:56.
160: Championship – Kolten Hanson (MED) pinned Carson Trotzer (DC), 3:28; Third place – Jordan Becker (ST) pinned Andy Ellis (MOS), 3:56.
170: Championship – Trevor Dennee (ST) def. Keller Wolfe (AUB), 7-2.
182: 1. Kaelen Schmitt (ST); 2. Ben Turner (SB).
195: Championship – Josh Nowak (KM) def. Aiden Hoffman (ST), medical forfeit.
220: Championship – Dylan Schoenherr (ST) pinned Andrew Salemme (MM), 2:32; Third place – Bradyn Polomis (DEN) def. Samuel Hasenohrl (AUB), 5-3.
285: Championship – Josh Frerk (DEN) pinned Charlie Gehringer (MM), 1:25; Third place – Jose Mohr (MOS) pinned Hector Rojas (ST), 0:14.

Comments are closed.

American Family Insurance - Randy LeMoine Agency
Individual Sponsors Wall
Hub City Times
Marshfield Alumni
Marshfield Tigers Booster Club
Total Electric
Business Sponsors
Forward Financial Bank
High Street Salon, Spa & Travel
Victory Apparel
All Insurance