Categorized | Stratford, Wrestling

Stratford repeats as state team wrestling champions

Posted on 03 March 2018 by paul

The Stratford wrestling team celebrates its second-straight state title on Saturday at the 2018 WIAA State Team Wrestling Tournament at the UW Fieldhouse in Madison. (Photo by Katie Marten/For

Stratford’s A.J. Schoenfuss, left, battles Logan Yira of St. Croix Falls during a Division 3 semifinal dual meet at the 2018 WIAA State Team Wrestling Tournament on Saturday at the UW Fieldhouse in Madison. (Photo by Katie Marten/For

Stratford’s Aiden Hoffman takes on Logan Klaas of Fennimore during the 195-pound match of the Division 3 championship dual of the 2018 WIAA State Team Wrestling Tournament in Madison on March 3. (Photo by Katie Marten/For


This story is sponsored by Total Electric

MADISON – The Stratford wrestling team left little doubt that it was the best Division 3 team in the state again this year.

Stratford rolled past St. Croix Falls 47-12 in the semifinals and handled Fennimore 45-13 in the championship match on Saturday at the 2018 WIAA State Team Wrestling Tournament at the University of Wisconsin Fieldhouse to capture its second-straight Division 3 championship.

The Tigers lost just six of the 28 matches and had eight pins to crush their two opponents.

“I can’t say enough how proud I am of this team,” Stratford coach Joe Schwabe said. “Different kids stepped up all year, and especially today, to help their team. We are all so excited to cap the season off with such a solid performance.”

St. Croix Falls won the first two matches by decision before Stratford seven of the next eight to put the semifinal away.

Trevor Dennee earned a pin at 182 pounds, Aiden Hoffman won by decision and Dylan Schoenherr wno by major decision for the Tigers.

After a 1-0 win at 285 by St. Croix Falls’ Tanner Gaffey, Manny Drexler won by major decision, Karter Stuttgen won 8-2, and Max Schwabe and A.J. Schoenfuss won by pin for Stratford to open up a 32-9 lead.

Jeremy Schoenherr and Dilan Dehlinger had pins, and Jake Drexler won 12-6 to finish off the Tigers’ victory.

Stratford met Fennimore in the D-3 state finals for the third year in a row and quickly took control, winning five of the first six matches.
Trevor Dennee and Dylan Schoenherr won by major decision, Hoffman and Manny Drexler won by decision, and Hector Rojas had a pin at 285 pounds to give Stratford a 20-3 lead.

Schwabe won by major decision, Schoenfuss and Derek Marten had pins, and Jeremy Schoenherr, Jake Drexler and Jordan Becker finished off the match with three-straight wins.

“Guys like Devin Dennee and Kaelen Schmitt, who wrestled toe-to-toe with St. Croix Falls’ state finalist, and against Fennimore, Hector Rojas, Karter Stuttgen, and Kade Ehirke were invaluable to hep the team score. Those were huge momentum swings from those individuals.”

2018 WIAA State Team Wrestling Tournament
March 3, at UW Fieldhouse, Madison
Division 3 semifinals
Stratford 47, St. Croix Falls 12

160: Clay Carney (SCF) def. Devin Dennee, 3-1 (SV-1).
170: Luke Clark (SCF) def. Kaelen Schmitt, 5-2.
182: Trevor Dennee (ST) pinned Noah Horn, 3:42.
195: Aiden Hoffman (ST) def. Brandon Bastin, 7-6.
220: Dylan Schoenherr (ST) won major dec. over Caleb Gearhart, 11-0.
285: Tanner Gaffey (SCF) def. Hector Rojas, 1-0.
106: Manny Drexler (ST) won major dec. over Luke Theamert, 12-2.
113: Karter Stuttgen (ST) def. Graidy Guggisberg, 8-2.
120: Max Schwabe (ST) pinned Zack Clark, 1:47.
126: A.J. Schoenfuss (ST) pinned Logan Yira, 3:08.
132: Bennett Bergmann (SCF) def. Kix Grabow, 4-1.
138: Jeremy Schoenherr (ST) pinned Josey Wilson, 2:27.
145: Jake Drexler (ST) def. Garrett Bergmann, 12-6.
152; Dilan Dehlinger (ST) pinned Austin McCurdy, 3:37.

Division 3 championship
Stratford 45, Fennimore 13

170: Trevor Dennee (ST) won major dec. over Tyler Klaas, 12-1.
182: Trevor Neuroth (F) def. Kade Ehrike, 6-5.
195: Aiden Hoffman (ST) def. Logan Klaas, 11-6.
220: Hector Rojas (ST) pinned Cameron Allen, 4:29.
285: Dylan Schoenherr (ST) won major dec. over Brayden Leffler, 11-0.
106: Manny Drexler (ST) def. Brody Lee, 6-4.
113: Mason Lull (F) won major dec. over Karter Stuttgen, 15-3.
120: Max Schwabe (ST) won major dec. over Alex Birchman, 11-3.
126: A.J. Schoenfuss (ST) pinned Aiden Nutter, 1:16.
132: Trevor Wanek (F) pinned Derek Kraus, 0:30.
138: Derek Marten (ST) pinned Taggan Gommel, 1:22.
145: Jeremy Schoenherr (ST) def. Riley Blair, 9-5.
152: Jake Drexler (ST) def. Maguire Fitzgerald, 5-3.
160: Jordan Becker (ST) def. Will Ahnen, 5-3.

Comments are closed.

Business Sponsors
All Insurance
Marshfield Alumni
High Street Salon, Spa & Travel
Forward Financial Bank
American Family Insurance - Randy LeMoine Agency
Total Electric
Marshfield Tigers Booster Club
Individual Sponsors Wall
Victory Apparel